Paris Roubaix

Please share this - be social!
Tweet  Facebook  Linkedin  Pinterest 

Much as we all love watching some of the "new world" races, Paris-Roubaix is one of the oldest, hardest and prestigious races to win.  If you do, chances are you'll never have to buy a beer in a French or Belgian bar ever again!

It's 27 cobblestone sectors (also known as pavé) give the race it's nickname the "Hell of the North" (l'enfer du nord).

Roger De Vlaeminck (1972, 1974, 1975, 1977) and Tom Boonen (2005, 2008, 2009, 2012) have won Paris-Roubaix most often with four wins apiece.  RdV is famous for wearing the Brooklyn jersey flying across the cobbles (he never had a puncture in all of his rides) with perhaps the Mapei-GB jersey the next famous after their controversial 1-2-3 in 1996.

On this page, I have tagged the jerseys in my online collection that have a connection with Paris-Roubaix - not all are winners of the race - but some are!  It's a Hall of Fame for jerseys if you like!

If you want to further explore the full results of the past, take a look at as they have results from every single edition!

gelati Sanson Wool Jerseygelati Sanson Wool Jersey
Winner: 1980. A truly iconic jersey, the Sanson jersey was made famous by Francesco Moser's victories in Paris-Roubaix.
Weinmann 1990 
JerseyWeinmann 1990 Jersey
Podium: 1988. Bad luck influenced the result of the 1988 edition of the race when a plastic bag jammed in Thomas Wegmuller's derailleur 800m before the final sprint with Dirk Demol.
TI Raleigh 
JerseyTI Raleigh Jersey
No win at Paris-Roubaix for the mighty TI-Raleigh team in 1976, but Hennie Kuiper and Jan Raas both made it inside the top ten in 4th and 7th respectively.
Duval/Tafi JerseySaunier Duval/Tafi Jersey
This colourful and rather ill-advised jersey design was made for Tafi's last Paris-Roubaix appearance in 2005.
Radioshack 2013 
Team JerseyRadioshack 2013 Team Jersey
Winner: 2013. Fabian Cancellara came around Sep Vanmarcke to win by a bike length for his third Paris-Roubaix riding for RadioShack.
Mr Bookmaker/GB Champion JerseyMr Bookmaker/GB Champion Jersey
Podium: 2004. Roger Hammond taking third in the 2004 edition of the Paris-Roubaix race behind Magnus Backstedt was a highlight of the 2004 season for me.
Motorola Team 
JerseyMotorola Team Jersey
Canadian rider Steve Bauer famously rode in the 1993 Paris-Roubaix (and Gent-Wevelgem without the Rockshox suspension forks) with his unique "Stealth" bike that featured a rather unusual 60 degree seat angle!
Mapei/GB 1996 JerseyMapei/GB 1996 Jersey
Winner: 1996. In the centenary edition of Paris-Roubaix, Mapei-GB finished 1-2-3. With 15km remaining, Squinzi called Patrick Lefevre arranging the order of the riders, with Johan Museeuw winning.
Lotto 1995 Team 
JerseyLotto 1995 Team Jersey
Podium: 1995. This is the 1995 version of the Lotto jersey where Tchmil finished second, but his epic win in the 1994 edition is one of my favourite editions of the race!
Leopard/Trek JerseyLeopard/Trek Jersey
Podium: 2011. Fabian Cancellara (Leopard-Trek) couldn't stop Johan Van Summeren (Garmin-Cervelo) from taking his first and only victory!
Hallen/Decosol/Yoko JerseyKwantum Hallen/Decosol/Yoko Jersey
No win for multi-discipline Adri Van der Poel, he had to be happy with ninth whilst the Renault-Elf team scored a 1-2 with Marc Madiot and Bruno Wojtinek.
Aernhoudt/Rossin JerseyJ. Aernhoudt/Rossin Jersey
Winner: 1983. Fantastic wool retro team jersey by Santini that was ridden to victory at the 1983 Paris Roubaix by Hennie Kuiper.
JerseyGiant/Alpecin Jersey
Winner: 2015. John Degenkolb rode a Giant Defy Advanced SL to victory at the 2015 Paris Roubaix with a brave attack in the final kilometres.
Cote D`Or/DAF 
Trucks JerseyCote D`Or/DAF Trucks Jersey
Podium: 1981. Roger de Vlaeminck did not win for DAF Trucks in 1981, but he did get on the podium behind race winner Bernard Hinault who voved never to ride the race again!
Cervelo Test Team 2009 JerseyCervelo Test Team 2009 Jersey
Podium: 2009. Thor Hushovd (Cervelo Test Team) took a creditable third place in the 2009 edition of Roubaix behind a flying Tom Boonen.
Brooklyn Wool 
JerseyBrooklyn Wool Jersey
Winner: 1977. Roger de Vlaeminck took flight from the 22 riders in the group, never to be seen again to earn his record-setting fourth Paris-Roubaix win.
Belkin 2014 Team 
JerseyBelkin 2014 Team Jersey
Sep Vanmarcke (Belkin Pro Cycling) missed out on a podium position in the 2014, with Niki Terpstra (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) surprising the field to win in a lone break.
ADR 1987 Team 
JerseyADR 1987 Team Jersey
Podium: 1987. Belgium took the first five places in the 1987 with ADR's Patrick Versluys in 2nd behind Eric Vanderaerden. Dirk Demol took the win in the following year for ADR.
KAS JerseyKAS Jersey
Sean Kelly in a yellow KAS jersey (often with green arm warmers) thundering along the cobbles in Paris Roubaix is a sight to behold!

Website: Paris Roubaix